Server monitoring changes not saved

It's really frustrating when you save a change and the page refreshes and you find that your configuration change was not saved (and there is no explanation as to why). Repeating the process doesn't make a difference. It's even more frustrating when you do the same thing, but the page refreshes to another page (often the list of virtual servers) and you have no idea that your configuration change wasn't even saved! This mostly happens when making changes to a server template.

So in the server template I created, under "Status monitoring", I have "Send email to server owner?" marked "yes". When I try to change that to "no" the page refreshes but the option is again marked "yes".

Why does it not change and what magic incantation must I recite to get it to be marked "no"?

And what do I need to do to stop my existing users from being spammed by false "down" alerts? Do I just delete the monitors at Webmin -> Others -> System and Server Status?

Thank-you.

Craig

Status: 
Fixed (pending)

Comments

It doesn't require any magical incantations, but do you by chance have any chickens?

Haha I'm kidding of course, but I unfortunately wasn't able to reproduce that.

That is, I went into the Status Monitoring Server Template, I selected changed "Send email to server owner", changed changed that to "No" -- and after doing that, I clicked "Save" at the bottom of the page.

Once I clicked Save, when I went back into the Server Template, and it looked correct.

Just to verify, you are clicking "Save" there?

Note though that this would only affect newly created Virtual Servers.

To change an existing Virtual Server, you can go into Edit Virtual Server -> Enabled Features, and there, you can uncheck the Status Monitoring Feature.

Ha ha.

Yes, I tried clicking both the "Save" and "Save and Next" buttons and in all attempts the "Yes" setting persists.

There must be something that's overriding my choice. I have removed the monitors for the virtual servers that are already on the new server, thinking perhaps those were forcing that setting to be kept, but still I cannot save the change.

Removing the feature in the existing Virtual Servers should prevent that status notification from being sent,

As far as why you're unable to save that option, that's a fine question... can you verify that you're using the latest Webmin, 1.930?

And do you see any errors in /var/webmin/miniserv.error when that happens?

Thanks. I did remove the feature from the existing virtual servers.

Yes, this is a fresh installation, and I am using 1.930. It's also not the only problem on a fresh installation, but I'm working through them.

There is no output in miniserv.error when I try to make the change. There is output in two other log files, but I'm not sure they'll be of any use:

webmin.log:

1567033756.21619.0 [28/Aug/2019 23:09:16] root 0857af1d67a0d76f623582cba06f703c 1.2.3.4 virtual-server save_tmpl.cgi "modify" "template" "Default Web"

miniserv.log:

1.2.3.4 - root [28/Aug/2019:23:09:02 +0000] "POST /virtual-server/edit_newtmpl.cgi HTTP/1.1" 200 9203
1.2.3.4 - root [28/Aug/2019:23:09:04 +0000] "GET /virtual-server/edit_tmpl.cgi?id=156679030620318 HTTP/1.1" 200 15321
1.2.3.4 - root [28/Aug/2019:23:09:10 +0000] "GET /virtual-server/edit_tmpl.cgi?id=156679030620318&new=&editmode=status HTTP/1.1" 200 16652
1.2.3.4 - root [28/Aug/2019:23:09:16 +0000] "POST /virtual-server/save_tmpl.cgi HTTP/1.1" 302 0
1.2.3.4 - root [28/Aug/2019:23:09:17 +0000] "GET /virtual-server/edit_newtmpl.cgi HTTP/1.1" 200 9235

I guess this must be a bug too.

Category: Support request » Bug report
Assigned: Unassigned »

Thanks -- I'm passing this over to Jamie for further comment.

What do you have the "Additional email address for monitoring messages" option set to on that page?

Hi Jaime,

So at Virtualmin -> System Settings -> Server Templates -> Status monitoring that field is set to "From default settings". Taking your hint, I changed that to "None" and tried changing "Send email to server owner?" to "No", and the settings were saved correctly.

Thank-you.

Craig

Ok, great! Actually when "From default settings" is selected, all the other fields should be disabled?

Jaime, when editing that page if you click "From default settings", yes, the other fields are disabled. However, if you save and then return to that page they are no longer disabled, even though "From default settings" is still selected.

Status:
Active
»
Fixed (pending)

Ok, this is a bug in the UI - we'll fix it in the next release.

OK, great. I should have mentioned I was using Authentic, but perhaps it's independent of the theme or you already figured that out.